Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Union Employees

Employee Statistics 

Union employed 1,020 teachers, 910 support personnel, and 80 administrators during the 2022-2023 school year. Of the district’s administrators, 91 percent had a master’s degree or higher. Of the teaching and administrative staff, 41.2 percent held graduate-level degrees – 430 with master’s degrees and 18 with doctorates.

Thirteen teachers held National Board Certification.

The district welcomed 190 new teachers for the 2022-23 school year.

The ethnic diversity among the staff was 7 percent African American, 6 percent American Indian,
15 percent Hispanic, 3 percent Asian, and 69 percent Caucasian/other. Four hundred and forty-nine were male and 1,561 were female. 

Thumbs up from a custodian

Employee Achievements

Rebecka Peterson, a math teacher at Union High School, was named 2023 National Teacher of the Year. Her selection is also historic in that Oklahoma has not had a National Teacher of the Year since 1964.

Tina Vollmer, Jarman Elementary special needs teacher, was named District Teacher of the Year.

Union High School Teacher Rexanne McCrary was named a top-12 finalist for Oklahoma State Teacher of the Year in the spring of 2023.

Conchita Carreno, Human Resource Specialist for Union Schools, was named Support Employee of the Year in May 2023.

Shelley Bowersock was honored with a $1,000 check from the Oklahoma Central Credit Union for successfully implementing the Banzai Financial Literacy Program into her accounting class.

The Oklahoma Center for Community & Justice (OCCJ) honored Superintendent Dr. Kirt Hartzler with the OCCJ Humanitarian Award, along with Tulsa Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Deborah Gist. The Tulsa Annual Awards honor individuals of outstanding dedication and community service in the region. Honorees exhibit an extensive record of involvement in civic, charitable, volunteer, and professional organizations, and have contributed to the improvement of human relations among diverse groups in Oklahoma.

Superintendent Dr. Kirt Hartzler was recognized with the Filbert Five Award as part of the induction ceremonies for the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame.

The Oklahoma Association of School Administrators named Superintendent Dr. Kirt Hartzler of Union Public Schools as the 2023 OASA District 5 Superintendent of the Year. In June 2023, he was recognized as 2023 State Superintendent of the Year for Oklahoma at the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration Summer Leadership Conference.

For the 31st year in a row, the Finance Division for Union Public Schools received the Certificate of Excellence in Financial Reporting from the Association of School Business Officials International (ASBO) for its comprehensive annual financial report for 2021-22.

For the second year in a row, the district was awarded the Meritorious Budget Award (MBA) for the 2021-22 budget year.

Athletics Staff Honors

  • OCA Region 7 Wrestling Coach of the Year Gerald Harris
  • OCA Region 7 Track Coach of the Year Tim Dial
  • OCA Region 7 Tennis Coach of the Year Tyler Ashley
  • OCA Region 7 Baseball Coach of the Year Shawn Newkirk
  • OCA Baseball Coach of the Year Shawn Newkirk
  • OCA Region 7 Athletic Director of the Year Steve Dunlap
  • OCA Region 7 Jr High Coach of the Year Gregg Evans
  • OIAAA Tom Westbrook Distinguished Service Award Stephanie Blackwell, Athletics coordinator
  • OIAAA Frank Kovaleski Professional Development Award Emily Barkley, Athletics director
  • 2023 Most Valuable Athletic Trainer from Training and Conditioning Dan Newman